Baltic Way 30 & MRP 80

    Baltic Way 30
    23. aug. 2019 @ 17:00 – 20:00
    Stockholmi Eesti Maja
    Wallingatan 34
    11124 Stockholm
    Baltiska Samarbetsgruppen, Balti koostöögrupp
    +46 725190480
    Baltic Way 30 & MRP 80 @ Stockholmi Eesti Maja

    On the 23rd of August 1989, approximately two million inhabitants of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania joined hands and connected the capitals of the Baltic States, Tallinn, Riga and Vilnius to commemorate and condemn the Molotov–Ribbentrop pact signed by Germany and the USSR on the 23rd of August 1939.

    It was a powerful gesture designed to strengthen each other in the fight for a common goal – to regain the independence of the Baltic States. People of different ages, nationalities, religions and social groups participated. In 2009, UNESCO included the Baltic Way in its Memory of the World Register.

    Year 2019 marks the 30th anniversary of the Baltic Way and 80 years since the signing of the Molotov–Ribbentrop pact. Both anniversaries will commemorated throughout the year by the governments and people of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania in a series of events in the Baltic States and worldwide.

    A public event to honor the 30th Anniversary of the Baltic Way will be held in Stockholm on Friday, 23rd of August, from 17.00 -20.00 at Estonian House. The event is organised by the Cooperation Council of the Baltic Organisations in Sweden. With a courtesy of the Embassy of Estonia in Sweden an exhibition of historical artefacts of the time will be on display during the event. Exhibition “Baltic Way 30: One History, Two Million Stories” is composed by the Vabamu Museum of Occupations and Freedom  in cooperation with the Estonian Government Office, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Ministry of Culture. Speakers: Patrik Oksanen, David Lindén, Gunnar Hökmark, Nora Sööt. 

    All Estonians, Latvians, Lithuanians residing in Sweden, journalists and our friends of all nationalities are welcome to attend the meeting on the 23rd of August. Carrying flags of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania is encouraged.

    R.S.V.P. 21 August

    Cooperation Council of the Baltic Organisations in Sweden:
    Association of Estonians in Sweden (REL) – chairman Sirle Sööt
    Estonian-Swedes Culture Association (SOV) – chairman Lars Rönnberg
    Association of Latvians in Sweden (ZLA) – chairman Daina Millers-Dalsjö
    Swedish- Latvian Association (SV-LT) – chairman Stefano Giangiacomo
    Lithuanian Community in Sweden (LFS) – chairman Marijus Sabalas